Basketball: 14 Consecutive Conference Championships
by James Hynemen

For the 14th consecutive year, the LACC Men’s Basketball Team took the South Coast Conference Championship. This achievement set a college basketball record. No other college men’s program has ever won 14 consecutive conference championships. City’s 2005-2006 SCC Championship tied the former all-time record of 13 championships with Pac-10 power UCLA. The Cubs record is distinguished from UCLA in that four different coaches participated in UCLA’s consecutive titles. The Cubs have been under the same head coach, Mike Miller, throughout their winning streak.

Another milestone for the team this season was coach Miller’s 500th career win as a head basketball coach. Miller was named head coach in 1992. He has been honored as “Coach of the Year” 16 times in his 18 seasons as a head coach at both the high school and junior college levels. He is most proud of matriculating over 60 players to NCAA Division I institutions.

The season also ended with five LACC players named to the All-Conference team:
Sophomore Jay Brown (Griffin HS, GA), SCC Co-Most Valuable Player [pictured right] and named to the All State Team • Freshman Eric Nelson (Hamilton HS/Inglewood HS), First Team All Conference • Sophomore Treyvon Johnson (Inglewood HS), Second Team All Conference • Sophomore Perry Baggett (Crenshaw HS/Los Angeles) & Sophomore Rudy Smith (Bronx Regional, NY) Honorable Mention All Conference.